Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • cover play_arrow

    HYFIN Connecting The Culture

  • play_arrow

    Rhythm Lab Radio Redefining the Urban Sound

  • play_arrow

    Discovering her past: Element uncovers her roots through African Ancestry DNA testing Tarik Moody


Milwaukee Primary election: Learn About Races, How to Vote, and More

todayFebruary 15, 2024

share close
"Feb 20 Milwaukee Election: Essential Guide to Races, Voting, Candidates

As the Feb 20, 2024, Milwaukee primary election approaches, voters must be well-informed about the races, how to vote, and the candidates involved. This guide provides essential information to help Milwaukee residents navigate the upcoming election.

Key Races

The primary election features several important races:

Milwaukee Mayoral Race Details

The Milwaukee mayoral race is a significant citywide contest, drawing attention to its potential impact on the city’s future direction. Incumbent Mayor Cavalier Johnson, elected in 2022 to complete the term of former Mayor Tom Barrett, is seeking a full four-year term. Johnson’s tenure so far has been marked by his previous roles as Common Council president and a council member since 2016, bringing a wealth of experience in city governance to his mayoral duties.


  • Cavalier Johnson (Incumbent): Johnson’s leadership has been characterized by a focus on public safety, economic development, and public health. His experience as Common Council president and his tenure as mayor give him a deep understanding of Milwaukee’s challenges and opportunities.
  • David King: Founder of the Wisconsin God Squad, King has a history of community involvement and has run for various offices at different levels of government, including Republican lieutenant governor in 2022 and Milwaukee mayor in 2020. His platform emphasizes community engagement and safety.
  • Ieshuh Griffin: Known for her slogan, “The Poor People’s Piece of the Pie Campaign,” Griffin has been a perennial candidate in local and state elections. Her campaigns have often focused on social justice and economic equity. Griffin’s candidacies have been notable for their grassroots approach and advocacy for marginalized communities.

Common Council Seats

The Milwaukee Common Council is a vital legislative body within the city’s government, comprising 15 elected members, each representing a district of approximately 39,800 residents. Council members serve four-year terms and have dual roles as legislators and district administrators. As legislators, they shape city policy, and administrators are responsible for the services citizens receive in their districts. The Common Council controls the finances of one of Wisconsin’s largest corporations and determines the course of city services, statutes, development, and, thus, the city’s future.

The Common Council operates through a committee system, which is the cornerstone of the governmental process in Milwaukee. Proposals are typically referred to one of the standing committees for study, and these committees hold public hearings, take expert testimony, and may refer ideas to city departments, boards, or commissions for evaluation. The full Council convenes after all committees have met, and the Council usually accepts the recommendations from these committees, although they can be discussed and amended on the Council floor.

For the upcoming election, there are three contested races for the Milwaukee Common Council. The districts and candidates are as follows:

  • District 5: Lamont Westmoreland (incumbent), Bruce Winter and Stacy Smiter
  • District 7: Jessica Currie, Randy Jones, DiAndre Jackson and Kenneth Hughes
  • District 11: Peter Burgelis, Lee Whiting and Josh Zepnick

Milwaukee County Board Seat

The Milwaukee County Board supervises and manages the county’s affairs, including the budget and services provided to residents. The board’s decisions significantly impact the county’s operations and the well-being of its citizens. For the upcoming election, a three-way race in Milwaukee Aldermanic District 18. The candidates are:

  • Deanna Alexander (i)
  • John Martin (Marty) Hagedorn
  • Brandon Williford

These primaries will determine which two candidates will advance to the April 2 spring election, where the winners will take their seats on the Common Council and the Milwaukee County Board, respectively.

Voting Information

  • Election Date: Tuesday, February 20, 2024.
  • Polling Hours: 7 AM to 8 PM. Voters in line by 8 PM are allowed to cast their ballots.
  • Registration: Voters can register at their polling place on the election day. Bring a valid ID and proof of residence.
  • Absentee Voting: Absentee ballots are an option for those unable to vote in person. Check the local election commission’s website for deadlines and submission guidelines.

How to Vote

  1. Check Registration: Ensure you are registered to vote. If not, you can register on election day at your polling place.
  2. Find Your Polling Place: Visit the City of Milwaukee Election Commission website or use statewide voter services to locate your polling station4.
  3. Bring ID: Wisconsin requires a photo ID to vote. Acceptable forms include a Wisconsin DOT-issued driver’s license, a U.S. passport, or a Military ID card, among others.
  4. Research Candidates: Familiarize yourself with the candidates in each race. Consider their platforms, experience, and how their goals align with your vision for Milwaukee and its communities.

Additional Resources

For more detailed information on candidates, specific ballot measures, and voting procedures, refer to the following resources:

By staying informed and participating in the electoral process, Milwaukee residents can help shape the future of their city and community. Remember, every vote counts!


Written by: HYFIN

Rate it

Who we are

HYFIN is a media movement from Radio Milwaukee.

Milwaukee’s only Urban Alternative radio station features the full spectrum of Black music beyond R&B and Hip-Hop plus Milwaukee music. HYFIN connects the culture with the latest Black culture news, podcasts and more. Listen to best hip hop & R&B, dance, Afrobeats and more!


Our radio is always online!
Listen now completely free!

Get your tickets now for just $10 in advance or $15 at the door and join us at 220 East Pittsburgh on May 10th.