Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • cover play_arrow

    HYFIN Connecting The Culture

  • play_arrow

    Rhythm Lab Radio Redefining the Urban Sound

  • play_arrow

    Discovering her past: Element uncovers her roots through African Ancestry DNA testing Tarik Moody


André 3000, George Clinton Feature on Kamasi Washington Album

todayMarch 11, 2024

share close
Kamasi Washington Announces New Album "Fearless Movement," Unveils "Prologue" and Embarks on North American Tour

Acclaimed multi-instrumentalist, composer, and bandleader Kamasi Washington has announced the release of his eagerly awaited new album, “Fearless Movement,” set to drop on May 3. Known for his groundbreaking works, such as “The Epic,” “Harmony of Difference,” and “Heaven and Earth,” Washington has established himself as a driving force in the contemporary jazz scene.

To give listeners a preview of the forthcoming album, Washington has released the lead single, “Prologue,” accompanied by a striking video. The track encapsulates Washington’s distinctive sound, effortlessly fusing elements of jazz, soul, and hip-hop to create a captivating and immersive musical journey.

“Fearless Movement” boasts an impressive roster of old and new collaborators. The album features Washington’s daughter, who composed the melody for “Asha The First” during her early piano explorations. Other notable contributions include André 3000 on flute, George Clinton’s vocals, and appearances by BJ The Chicago Kid, Inglewood rapper D-Smoke, and Taj and Ras Austin of Coast Contra, the twin sons of West Coast legend Ras Kass. Washington also enlisted the help of longtime friends and collaborators Thundercat, Terrace Martin, Patrice Quinn, Brandon Coleman, and DJ Battlecat.

The full tracklist for “Fearless Movement” is as follows:

  1. Lesanu
  2. Asha The First featuring Thundercat, Taj Austin, Ras Austin
  3. Computer Love featuring Patrice Quinn, DJ Battlecat, Brandon Coleman
  4. The Visionary featuring Terrace Martin
  5. Get Lit featuring George Clinton
  6. Dream State featuring André 3000
  7. Together featuring BJ the Chicago Kid
  8. The Garden Path
  9. Interstellar Peace (The Last Stance)
  10. Road to Self (KO)
  11. Lines in the Sand
  12. Prologue

In conjunction with the album release, Kamasi Washington will embark on a North American tour this spring and summer. The tour will commence on May 4 in New York City and will visit numerous major cities across the United States and Canada, including Philadelphia, Toronto, Detroit, Minneapolis, Houston, Seattle, and Los Angeles. Washington is also set to perform in Chicago on May 10, giving fans in the Windy City an opportunity to experience his captivating live show.

As the release of “Fearless Movement” draws near and the tour dates approach, Kamasi Washington continues to push the boundaries of jazz, bringing his unique vision and unparalleled musicianship to audiences across the continent. With a track record that includes collaborations, film scores, and Grammy nominations, Washington’s latest project is set to further solidify his position as one of the most innovative and influential artists in contemporary music.


Written by: Tarik Moody

Rate it

Who we are

HYFIN is a media movement from Radio Milwaukee.

Milwaukee’s only Urban Alternative radio station features the full spectrum of Black music beyond R&B and Hip-Hop plus Milwaukee music. HYFIN connects the culture with the latest Black culture news, podcasts and more. Listen to best hip hop & R&B, dance, Afrobeats and more!


Our radio is always online!
Listen now completely free!